Akesson PhotoBlog

capturing images of fabulous people

Backup Your Photos BEFORE the Computer Crashes!

Posted by akessonphotography on 1, August 26, 2008

For years I have been excruciatingly particular about backing up my photos – especially wedding pics. But I never really believed it would happen to me.  Have had a couple of hard disks come to grief,… but they gave indications and so I changed them.

Well it has happened. Very little indication of anything wrong.  So for the last 10 days I have been without my main computer.  BUT.  I never lost any photos.  And the wedding pics I am about to drop into their respective proof books are all safe. Sure I haven’t been able to work on them for nearly two weeks.  But critical backups have meant that no photos have been lost and no work completed has been wasted.

For all those who view this,…. PLEASE,…. even if it is “just” family snapshots do regular backups.  Put them onto dvd’s.  Get a second hard disk in your computer and back up to that.  Better still get two extra hard disks and use one for your photos and one for the backups of your photos.  Computers do crash and hard disks do die – both noisily and silently.

Nonetheless I have a second computer that is a bit slower.  So from Saturday week ago here are a few more of Seth and Karen just before they left for the USofA.

Celebrating Life

Celebrating Life

Happy Couple

Happy Couple

Leave a Reply

 
