Akesson PhotoBlog

capturing images of fabulous people

Working Creativity Into Post Processing

Posted by akessonphotography on 1, December 30, 2007

I’ve always liked the effect of grain on photographs. I remember how much I liked the effect Sarah Moon got with pushing fast films back in the 70’s and 80’s. Such effects can make incredibly stunning viewing.

Today I was finishing off preparing the proofs of a family shoot for uploading to their gallery and saw this first one – this young lady was really fabulous in front of the camera,…. bit of a natural …. well I thought it might go better into a contrasty grainy sepia. So I gave it a go. 40+ minutes later from careful preparations I had an end result was a strongly grainy pic. I like it heaps. I showed it to one member of my family – she says she prefers the colour version. Hmmmm. That was a just a bit deflating,… but I’m strong and I WILL GET OVER IT. It is a somewhat subjective art isn’t it!

Despite the full effect not being easily seen on the computer screen without it being a bit too big to upload, I just know it is going to be fabulous printed on Metallic paper or even an art paper. So this pic heads up my last post of 2007. Along with it is another taken around those rocks during the same shoot.

For the family they can see their proofs up on … Akesson Gallery … password will be obvious to the family.

Have a fabulous end to 2007 and start the year with some fresh goals to aim at. Let it be an amazing 2008.

Sepia - A on the Rocks

Colour - A on the Rocks

One Response to “Working Creativity Into Post Processing”

  1. […] Working Creativity Into Post Processing Bookmark […]

Leave a Reply

 
